Skyscraper

July 14, 2017

Anu had fallen asleep with her head on the study table. Her diary was open under her head, the open pages showing her latest entry. As Mother bent to gently pull the book away from under her, the first line caught her eye:
“Dear Diary,
I was as tall as a skyscraper today.”
Mother couldn’t help herself and began to read.
“After being confined to this room for a year, I didn’t think I would ever be able to feel free again.
I was petrified that I would lose control and history would repeat itself. But I was wrong. I was a skyscraper today again. I was so happy to feel the cool air on my face. I am so thrilled. I want to go back there tomorrow.”

Mother wiped away a happy tear as she gently wheeled Anu back to her bed. A year ago, Anu had tripped and fallen from that balcony. She had ventured out there for the first time today.


WRITTEN FOR #FFfAW 123

WORD COUNT: 164

PHOTO PROMPT:

photo-20170710154707376

 

PHOTO CREDITS: Grant-Sud

Mysuru,Karnataka,India

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Skyscraper

Leave a Reply

