Inconsequential Thoughts?

January 29, 2017

There is a great feeling of satisfaction and gratitude I feel today as I sit on this precise spot in the universe to write this post.

The emphasis is on ‘this precise spot’. Why, you ask? Let me tell you where I am.

I am currently in the universe, in the Milky Way galaxy, in the Solar System, on the Earth, in a country called India, in the state of Karnataka, in a city called Mysuru, in the comfort of my home.

But, grateful as I am of my family and my house, it is not for that I speak today.

I opened the newspaper today and was shocked by the headline on the ‘World’ page. It said that a certain president had officially banned people from certain countries from entering the country anymore. I was stunned.

I do not know much about politics or its intricacies, policies or their implementation. I openly accept that my experience in the world is next to nil. I will concede to the fact that I have no idea about the burdens of running a country. But all I know is this.

There needs to be a certain level of tolerance when you are dealing with people who may not necessarily believe in yours. There has to be a prudent manner in approaching affairs that have a global impact.

If you cannot learn to love every person in your community, you will find that there will be little love given to you.

I also believe that no religion professes violence and terror at its core.

Your religion should elevate you from all scruples and not instigate you to create more of them. If your belief does something akin to the latter, there is something fundamentally wrong in your understanding of living.

And that is why I am glad that I sit in this very spot today. In India.

The country that has witnessed plunders and suffered at the hands of others throughout history; the country that has probably seen power play at its best (or should I say worst) throughout living memory; makes me very glad and grateful.

Why? Because India is probably the only country that is striving to rise above all its setbacks. Because even with a population of 1.25 billion and growing, with 29 states and 7 union territories, with an estimate of 22 languages spoken (excluding local dialects), with the existence of people of every religion and every caste, we all live under the name of a single country. We are the world’s largest democracy, we rule ourselves, and we are proud of it.

If this does not set an example for the phrase ‘Unity in Diversity’, I don’t know what does.

I may be an inexperienced, unknowing, and even an ignorant human on this Earth, with no knowledge of handling power. But, I can definitely tell when power is being misused.

Thus, the fact that I am sitting here, in this war-beaten and battered, but strong country, makes me very thankful of my good fortune.

I think I have rambled on for quite some time now.

This is a citizen of India, a citizen of the world and most importantly, a human being with the knowledge of the difference between right and wrong, signing off.

Jai Hind!

Mysuru, Karnataka, India

3 thoughts on “Inconsequential Thoughts?

  1. Banning people from entering country which had become their homes stating their religions as the reason is a clear sign of misuse of power.
    Like you said, we are very lucky to have been born & brought up here, in India! & I am feeling a surge of patriotism rising in me right now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very relevant post..it was horrifying to read the stories of people who have been stuck at airports, who were questioned for several hours, who were sent back even after holding valid visas…as you said, thankful to be Indian and to be in India.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

