Mentor – Part 2

January 24, 2017

Yesterday, I spoke about how great mentors are hard to come by in life. I believe that if we sit down to make a list of all the guides we have in life, we will not be able to come up with more that 7-8 important names.

I got to thinking afterwards, and I realized that on my list of names, life itself will feature on the top.

If it it hadn’t been for life, we would not have made mistakes. If it wasn’t for life, we would not have learnt how not to repeat them. If it hadn’t been for life, we would not have had the chance to meet all the other mentors on our respective lists.

Let me give you an example.

When I was doing my pre-university course 3 years back, I had absolutely no clue as to what I was doing with my life. I was never at the top of my game. In fact, there was no game at all. I blundered through those 2 years without any deep understanding about the subjects or their relevance. I was literally fumbling for the switches for 2 whole years.

After I became an undergrad, however, I found an incredible change come over me. I regained the same kind of enthusiasm for studies that I used to possess until the 10th grade. I became active, I became curious. I became determined, I became better. I saw and felt myself evolve before my own eyes. It was unbelievable for me sometimes.

Sometimes, we need the lows to understand how to get to the highs.

Sometimes, we need to give ourselves time to change and evolve.

Sometimes, it is best to make peace with the fact that the idea of perfection in life is far-fetched.

And, the lows and the highs; the change and the circumstance;  the unrest and the peace can all be understood, because we have life to walk us through it. Think about it. Without life teaching us every step of the way, we would not have come this far along.

Don’t you think that life itself is a great mentor indeed?

To life, and its abundant and unfathomable greatness.

Mysuru, Karnataka, India

2 thoughts on “Mentor – Part 2

  1. So true..Life is the best thing that has ever happened to us & time will only tell what we have made out of this prodigious gift.
    I am happy that you have found yourself back 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

