“The Festival” – Diary of an Undergrad

January 22, 2017

Dear Diary,

Today, I will tell you about this particular day that occurs twice in every calendar year. Like the solstices and the equinoxes, these two days are incredibly special for an undergrad. And it also is a visual treat for an interested observer.

The only day you can ever see all the undergrads of the world look utterly woebegone is on the last day of the semester holidays. This is the day every normal undergrad will look at his bed fondly and say, ‘This is the last time I will sleep so soundly without setting an alarm for another 6 months *sigh*’.

This phenomenon occurs twice every year. Twice in a year, the undergrad will look as if he has lost all of his precious treasures. He will stare at the thought of his future (the next day at college) like something he had put away from his mind a long time back. These are the two days his happy bubble of reality pops with unwavering certainty.

So, because I am an undergrad too, I actively participate in this biannual ritual with great sincerity. A valid question to ask would be, ‘What is it that you do in the holidays that you end up missing it so much by the end?’

See, let me tell you the truth. Every holiday that I get to spend, always starts the same way. I spend the first day arranging my notes and books. On the first day, I ALWAYS organize my papers in a correct order and put them in their respective files. Nerdy right? 😉

After that’s done, I usually make a list of all the things that I want to do in the holidays. The list will contain the names of all the people I want to catch up with, the books I want to read and the like. Now you should be able to see where this is going. Like every other piece of paper that I dedicate to contain my resolutions for the New Year, this list also reaches the wastepaper bin with surprising speed.

After that, I am usually on a ‘Eat-Sleep-Read-Tv/Phone-Repeat’ routine. There are a few variations here and there, but I end up spending most of the days without accomplishing anything. And the best part is that I enjoy it so very much. 😀

What am I doing now? Oh, its that time of the year again. The vacation will end in a few days. The biannual festival is coming up. I am preparing for it with religious fervor. Its an important part of my life as an undergrad after all!

I have to go and continue doing nothing!

Bye…:-)

Mysuru, Karnataka, India

 

5 thoughts on ““The Festival” – Diary of an Undergrad

  1. So true!
    One day, during holidays, while changing channels, I saw a tiny part of a Hollywood movie which isn’t a fantasy/fiction. It had this Italian saying in it which the heroine learns- “Dolce far Niente“( I had to Google it, of course), which means, the sweetness of doing nothing. It said it’s not about being lazy but about getting the pleasure from being idle,which is just our case. 😉
    This time, I was so excited on the first day of the holidays, so much that I couldn’t enjoy my favourite breakfast( really!). And after that, I didn’t know what to do!
    But then, the days rollled by really fast!!
    Nice post Divya.

    Like

Leave a Reply

