Why I want to be this giraffe

January 9, 2017

A faction of the predictions that Quantum Physics makes about the cosmos, is all about the existence of parallel universes. The notion that our lives could be something entirely different in parallel realities is fun to think about sometimes.

I wonder how my life would be if I did not have an unquenchable thirst for books. I imagine that my existence in that parallel universe would be uninteresting, not inspiring and definitely crude.

My life would certainly be vastly different.

I owe my love for books entirely to my mother, a bookworm herself. She taught me the alphabet and small words even before I started school. The first book I ever owned was a book of words and sentences. It was armed with words and questions and expressive pictures; a book that still is on my bookshelf.

The first author I fell in love with was Enid Blyton. There cannot be a number affixed to the number of her books that I have read. You name it, I must have read it. Noddy, the ‘OClock tales, Amelia Jane, Binkle and Flip, The Faraway Tree, The School Stories: Malory Towers and St. Clare’s, The complete Famous Five and Secret Seven series and countless other short stories written by this genius of an author made my childhood the wonderful journey it was.

I was so inspired by her writing, that I started writing small adventure stories based on her style of writing, way back in my 3rd grade days! (They were never good, they’ve reached the wastepaper bin a long time back!)

After the ‘Age of Enid’ passed, I came across the Harry Potter series. Needless to say, I was hooked. The influence of these books has been so great on my life that it deserves a series of posts all on itself!

Afterwards, I have been exploring a lot of other genres and authors. Georgette Heyer, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle and among the recent ones, George RR Martin.

During the academic year, I try to stay away from the oh-so-addictive novels. And that’s why I have not been able to explore the work of many contemporary authors. I hope to tick a lot more authors and books off my list soon.

Books have been my great friend in my life because they pull me into different convincing worlds and make me laugh, cry, cheer and scream in horror at the same time. Not a lot of forces in the world can move me as books do.

And that’s why I think I would feel largely out of place in a parallel universe where I would have no love for books.

I feel jealous of the giraffe in the picture above. I really wish that I had a long, long neck using which I could carry all the books I wanted. (I wear the geeky glasses though. I guess I am halfway there!!)

May my love for the written word never end…

Mysuru, Karnataka, India

7 thoughts on “Why I want to be this giraffe

  1. Words create magic & many times, they can express things better than pictures. I have only read some books in the secret-seven & famous-five series.
    Harry Potter books were so real..! I started out late but, thank Dumbledore(;)), I atleast read them.
    May the books always pull you into their widely varied worlds !!..
    Loved the concept of giraffe & of course, the picture too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is something that I totally identify with and so would K 🙂 Try out Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters. One author that I really like is Ruskin Bond. I would like to meet him someday…
    H.G Wells, George Orwell… there are countless of them. Read Animal Farm by George Orwell – its a good one. Not to forget the wonderful plays of G B Shaw

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh! I totally forgot about Jane Austen! I love ‘Pride and Prejudice’. ‘Sense and Sensibility’..not so much , but I have read her works.
      Yes. I do need to read the works of lots of authors. I’m not even halfway there!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

