Cheers!

August 14, 2016

This was written by me at the time when my cousins went back home after spending a whole month of their summer vacation with us.

I really wonder why this has been sitting in the drafts box for such a long time…..

_________________________________________________________________

May 21, 2016

I stare across an empty house.

I am back to that same state as we were a month ago, and that old feeling of familiarity is strangely hard getting used to.

I walk to each and every room and sense familiarity come inside with me. But the unmistakable void is still there.

And that void is probably going to remain for a few days in the least because though my cousins have gone back, they have left an unforgettable stamp, in our minds and quite visibly, our house.

The playing cards are still strewn across the bed, reminding me of the unfinished game of Rummy.

The Jenga blocks are still lying on the floor and I start picking them up and putting them back in its box.

A rush of memories bring back a stream of happy thoughts of the past month. I smile to myself.

For the last month or so, I have been absolutely oblivious of the fact that I am an undergrad or that I need to behave a certain way. I had forgotten for such a long while that  there never needs to be a reason to be happy constantly.

My little cousins, though unknowingly, have taught me that the search for happiness lies not in the quest. It is in fact, not a quest at all. The experience of being alive is, in itself a source of joy, because every moment is a opportunity to be tapped. Every moment is a challenge that can be won. Every moment is a chance to smile. The fact that we live, is a reason to be happy.

And that’s the true purpose of living. Isn’t it?

To be happy and to make others happy too?

Here’s to the infinite joy that are cousins!

May our cousins never fail to fill our lives with infinite joy, purpose and love.

Cheers!

Mysuru, Karnataka, India

 

 

11 thoughts on “Cheers!

  1. Yes, when cousins are around, its like we are having the time of our lives & when they get back to their homes after a stay- long or short -they leave a void in our hearts that takes a long while to disappear.
    They make us feel so special ☺
    Lovely post Divya

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Divya akka. You and Saipriya akka too taught me some things-
    “Being old-fashioned is just plain crazy.”( Okay you tried to teach me this!)
    “Arguments serve no purpose”( Best not talk about this one!)

    And many more. I loved my vacation in Mysore, and I still remember those wonderful games we played. As the old song goes-“Bachpan ke din bhula na dena|”
    (Being old-fashioned is just in my veins I guess.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! The way you write is simply adorable. This brought a huge smile to my face.
      And let me tell you this. Being old fashioned is not at all crazy. It is a very good thing, but only up to a certain extent. You need to have equal knowledge of the current trends and the good old oldies. 🙂
      I have never said that its bad to be old fashioned. I never will.
      Also, as they say, ‘Old is Gold’.

      Like

Leave a Reply

