Tribute

January 16, 2016

I speak as and for the staunch book lover.

When I read a book, all the situations and characters paint a visually rich picture in my mind’s-eye. The words form a mental picture of all the characters and I tend to stick to that image and I root for that image.

And, I will put it bluntly.

I detest the movie adaptations of books.

The movies take away a huge part of the soul of the book. The characters are usually miscast and the situations are blown out of proportion. The importance is always given to the magnitude and quantity of it all, never on the quality or depth of the scene.

Those images in my mind take a severe hit when they are recreated in movies.

One gigantic casualty of these blatantly commercial adaptations is the Harry Potter series.

I am sorry, but many of the crucial cliffhangers in the series were almost always overlooked or modified. The crazy genius of J.K.Rowling was never captured sufficiently well. And I will continue to have a list of complaints against these movies, no matter what.

But sometimes, a few performances stay with you even after you come out of the theaters, however inaccurate the movie was.

As a reader, and a Harry Potter lover, my favorite character of all time was and is, that of Severus Snape.

In the books, the depth of the character of Snape was so well described. His sacrifice, his heartache and his struggles were that which made the books so endearing and worthy of multiple re-readings.

And it is incredibly difficult to bring such a multi-layered character to life. It is incredibly  difficult to understand the pains of Severus Snape and then portray it so effectively on the big screen.

It is incredibly difficult to become Severus Snape.

But, Alan Rickman has done it with a finesse that is difficult to recreate ever again. For me, it is undoubtedly the best performance in that entire movie series.

I am unfamiliar with the actor’s other works but I can safely say that he did his character justice every single time.

I did not think that I would feel the same anguish for Snape ever again after I had read the books the first time. But I did, and the tears which welled up in my eyes were genuine, and in that moment, I was not watching the movie,  I was reading the book and the words were speaking to me just like they had the first time.

A part of my heart that I had given to the Harry Potter story died when Severus Snape died. History repeated itself again when the great actor who had brought my image of Snape to life, died.

And though, as a staunch book lover, I have my issues with the adapted movies, I will say this.

Thank you, for bringing my mental Snape to life.

Rest in peace Alan Rickman.

 

snape3

6 thoughts on “Tribute

  1. U know what?
    I read this post aloud to my parents..of course the same thing I do with every single post you write.. They were awestruck..They have never watched any Harry Potter movie series nor have they read any of those books.. yet,they now know how great Alan Rickman was.. Your words did it all..
    We all take our hats off to you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. U know what.. I read this post aloud to mom & dad..of course the same thing I do with every single post you write.. They were awestruck..They have never watched any Harry Potter movie series nor have they read any of those books.. yet,they now know how great Alan Rickman was.. Your words did it all..
    We all take our hats off to you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

